Print Friendly, PDF & Email

QUESTION

Washington, D.C.

Rav Linzer, can you weigh in on why (or why not) sesame seeds and mustard seeds are kitniyot?

ANSWER

It is hard if not impossible to nail down a definition of what type of produce is included in kitniyot. Rav Moshe Feinstein (Iggrot Moshe OC 3:63) acknowledged that the two reasons given for the prohibition of kitniyot, (1) that these foods can be used to make flour and, (2) that wheat and barley often get mixed in with these foods, do not explain the list of what is included and excluded. There are foods that fit into one of these categories, such as potatoes and caraway seeds, that are not deemed kitniyot. There are also things that don’t fit the list, such as mustard seeds, which is already included by Rema (OC 464:1) as kitniyot. Rav Moshe’s conclusion is it is all based on Minhag, and the Minhag focused on foods that were common when the Minhag was originally being adopted. It did not update and expand when new foods were discovered, even though those new foods logically should be included. Based on this, he permits peanuts although the logic of kitniyot might apply to them, since the Minhag never extended to them (unless one is in a place where the Minhag is not to eat them). This approach would, of course, rule out all expansions from the original Minhag, including things like corn. However, he does have another category of מה שידוע ומפורסם, which either means that it is a new addition that was widely adopted and/or that it so obviously deserves to be in the category. All of this should certainly make us realize that it is absurd to apply it to Quinoa.

Why Mustard and Sesame?

With all that, Rav Moshe never explains why mustard was included. Hagahot Maymoniyot, cited in Beit Yosef OC 453, says that it is because it is מדגן, a term used in Nedarim 55a to refer to the fact that it is processed like grain, which is not a concern we find elsewhere in regards to kitniyot. Taz OC 453:1 writes that it is because it they both grow in pods.

As to sesame, the origin is not clear. Rav Kook, in 1909, famously got into some major debates and attacks because he wanted to permit sesame seed oil (see Orach Mishpat 108-114). Rav Dovid Tvi Hoffman (Melamed LeHoyil 1:87) was also asked if sesame seeds were kitniyot. While the teshuva is undated, the sefer was printed in 1925. He cannot easily find a logical kitniyot category to put it in, but he states that there are already those who have the Minhag to not even use sesame seed oil, and that in a different area of halakha they are referred to as kitniyot and they are somewhat like beans, so in the end he forbids. It looks like this just developed on its own, from the ground up.

Rav Moshe (Iggrot Moshe OC 3:63),

הנה בדבר הפינאט…שאין זה ענין כלל, שכל הדברים העושין מהם קמח נאסרו ממנהג זה, דאין לך דבר העושין ממנו קמח כתפוחי אדמה… ומעולם לא חשו לאסור זה. וכן הטעם שמיני חטים מתערבין…דהא עניס וקימעל שמתערבין בהן מיני חטים ושעורים כמפורש… ומ”מ לא אסרום כמפורש ברמ”א. וחרדל כתב הרמ”א בסימן תס”ד שנוהגין לאסור דהוי כמיני קטניות אף שאין בו הטעמים. ולכן אין לנו בדבר אלא מה שמפורש שנהגו לאסור וכן מה שידוע ומפורסם….אלא שהנהיגו את העם להחמיר שלא לאכול מינים אלו שהיה מצוי לאוכלם מפני הטעמים… [ולכן] לא נאסרו אלא המינים שהנהיגו ולא  שאר מינים שלא הנהיגו מפני שלא היו מצויין אז…ולכן גם הפינאטס לא אסרו בהרבה מקומות עוד מכ”ש. ובמקום שליכא מנהג אין לאסור כי בדברים כאלו אין להחמיר כדאיתא בח”י  ולאלו שיש להם מנהג ביחוד שלא לאכול פינאט אסור גם בפינאט אבל מספק אין לאסור. ולכן שייך שיתן הכשר שלא נתערב שם חמץ ויאכלו אלו שלא נהגו בזה איסור. וכן ראיתי שנותנים הכשר על פינאט אויל מהאי טעמא.

 

Rav Dovid Zvi Hoffman (Melamed LeHoyil 1:87),

והנה במזרח מקומות מקומות יש, יש מקומות שאוכלין שמן שומשמין… אכן כאשר הוגד מאיש אחד ירושלמי רובן של יושבי ירושלי מחמירין שלא לאכול. ולענין אי מיקרי קטניות הנה אין מבואר בפוסקים גדר מלת קטניות, רק הט”ז כתב /או”ח/ סי’ תנ”ג ס”ק א’ דחרדל מפני שגידולו בשרביטין הוא כקיטניות. והנה כפי אשר שמעתי שומשמין אינו גדל בשרביטין אח”ז ראיתי בפי’ שבי”ד סי’ רצ”ב ס”ג שומשמין נמנה בכלל קטניות ומדיש אחרונים דאוסרין את שמנו אפילו להדלקה מפני שמעורב בו דגן ש”מ שיש בו חשש כבקטניות גם אין דעת הט”ז לומר דכל שאינו גדל בשרביטין אינו בכלל גזירת קטניות. ולפ”ז יש להחמיר בשומשמין כבקטניות ובפרט שדומה קצת לעדשים.